Hello world!

1 Mar

Hey there everybody!

I’m not quite sure who I’m saying hello to as I still haven’t decided if I am going to advertise my blog on every social networking site out there like most people do. I will just say that I created this blog for myself, for the pleasure of writing.  I’m no Gabriel Garcia Marquez, I know that. But I really enjoy writing. I remember this passion began when I was 14 years old or so and I started to write poetry and short stories. I have to admit my early work sucked, but I managed to write a couple of decent poems as I grew older. As with most things in my life, I eventually lost all interest in writing.  Then when I was in college and I had to write some formal papers, I realized I had a long way to go when it came to writing.  I felt frustrated because I was getting straight A’s in English and French and German but my best friend Oriana and David S. always beat me at writing. I discovered then that my problem is having to write about something in particular, (maybe it’s because I dislike being told what to do?) or having to meet a deadline.  I simply can’t write under pressure.

So I hope this new blogging adventure serves two purposes: improving my writing skills, which I find compelling since I’m teaching an advanced course on Writing and allowing me to vent every now and then in order to keep sane emotionally.

I hope whoevers runs into my writing enjoys it.

M

3 Responses to “Hello world!”

  1. Gabriel March 3, 2009 at 7:17 pm #

    Hola Mangocita! It’s so exciting that you’ve begun blogging! I can’t wait to see what you do with it.

  2. Oriana June 6, 2009 at 10:50 pm #

    It’s good to hear you find a place to express all your feelings and practice language. Wish you the best, as I always do…

  3. David S June 21, 2009 at 3:37 pm #

    Hi, be-otch! THE David S!!! The real deal, the one and only, keepin’ it real right here! Thanks for the shout out! I kicked your sorry little ass (and pretty much everyone else’s) back then, but now you just pwned me with this blog. My respect! Your writing is certainly more active than mine these days. I love you (you know it already), and I hope we can catch up soon.

Leave a Reply

