Think I’m paranoid?

22 May

You’d think I’m paranoid but lately I’ve been considering getting either a Swiss knife, pepper spray or Taser gun. Crime has been stalking me in the last couple of days. As you very well know, I was mugged last week. This past Tuesday night, a laptop was stolen from one of the classrooms at the Institute where I work. Another teacher and I were deceived by a robber who brazenly entered the room and asked us to leave as he had to charge the AC with some toxic gas. I’m pretty sure he must have had some “inside” help. Otherwise, how could he have known the AC was not working that night? I don’t want to make any accusations, but whatever!

Even though it was not MY laptop that was stolen, I still feel ROBBED. How could we have been so gullible? How could that guy have fooled us like that? If he was going to handle toxic gas, how come he was not wearing a mask? How come we weren’t notified of this by the Academic Office? How come I didn’t ask myself these questions then, before it was too late? My boss said it could have happened to anybody but I can’t help feeling stupid about the whole thing.

Anyways, yesterday one of my coworkers was mugged too. Two guys on a motorcycle followed him after work and stopped him while he was in his car at a traffic light and pulled a gun on him and especifically asked for his watch. His really expensive Invicta watch. This is so weird because usually those muggers on motorcycles just ask you to give them your wallet or cell. But they asked for his watch, so how on earth did they know he usually wears a fancy pricey watch? Coincidence? I don’t think so. Luckily he wasn’t wearing it that day.

So that is why I have been really paranoid lately and I have asking myself if I should get something for self-defense. I was thinking a Swiss Army knife but a really smart person advised me not to get one as it could be used against me and being as clumsy as I am, I’m sure it’s very likely to be that way. Pepper spray does not seem to be as effective as a Taser gun, but I heard those are hard to come by.

One thing is for sure, though. I am not too sure I want to continue living in Barranquilla anymore.

3 Responses to “Think I’m paranoid?”

  1. MOnto May 23, 2009 at 6:37 pm #

    hey, estamos hablando del mismo lugar en el que trabajaba? el mismo de “te ensenamos ingles de verdad?”….i can’t believe things got so fishy and suspicious there. i hope that everybody will be o.k. since i plan to work there again… some day. take care Mangocita, je,je ^_^

  2. Johann S May 24, 2009 at 3:53 am #

    Well Majo, I know you are not feeling safe lately, but believe me wherever you go here in this country you will feel scared, in Bogota the situation is even worse, I have this college partner, who has or had a laptop I don’t know and he was inside a Transmilleno.. And a robber tried to take it in front of everybody and the people did nothing about it.. They just stay away like that’s not our business.

    Maybe all we need is better cops; they should be catching muggers instead of searching money on the Street.

    To finish, a Taser cost around 50 dollars and the thing is, we don’t know how we are going to react in that moment, and they have guns which are more dangerous … if I could I wish I have the strength and a Big Metal Bat to swing they stomachs and legs … Damn F***ers.

  3. Gabriel May 26, 2009 at 7:22 pm #

    Nothing you own is worth your life. Thats the one thing you have with you at all times that can’t be replaced.

    Be smart, being proactive is the best defense. Try not to travel alone, don’t display signs of wealth. If they knew the AC was broken, and they knew your friend wore a pricey watch, they are obviously paying attention and watching for patterns and opportunity.

    So don’t follow patterns, don’t give them an opportunity. You don’t need to beat them or taser them. All you need to do is make yourself a more difficult and less desirable target than the next person.

    Watch out for yourself, especially when a loved one isn’t there to do it for you. Be safe Mangocita.

Leave a Reply

