That’s Just My Luck

10 Jul

Hey there everyone!

How are ya’ll doing?

I am sitting here on my bed wondering what destiny’s next move will be in order to make my life even more miserable. Wow, that sentence just made me sound like such a drama queen. But seriously, lately it seems like fate is determined to give me trouble.

Apparently fate wants me stinky. Yesterday morning, I woke up early and decided to catch up on some work I have been shamelessly putting off for a while. Then I heard someone knock on the door and a couple of minutes later I hear my aunt arguing with some strange men. Annoyed,  I get up to see what the fuss is about. It turned out these dudes had come to cut off my water service. “Cut off our water service? Ha!”, I said in the most arrogant tone, laughing at them. If there’s one thing I can take pride in is my being ridiculously punctual when it comes to paying my bills. Anyways, due to a misunderstanding in the system at Triple A (the water company) it seemed like I still owed a tax or something like that from last month. I called the customer service line and a very inept woman told me I had to pay and wait 72 hours until they sent someone to put the service back on. Then it was the two guys’ turn to laugh at me.

Having no water at home is truly a nightmare. I had to use my neighbor’s shower so I could make it to work yesterday. In the end, I paid what they said I owed and my uncle put the service back on himself last night. Like hell I was going to wait 72 freaking hours without water. And if those fuckers dare give me a fine for not waiting for them to do it, I will sue their asses. Pardon my filthy language, but big companies and their stupidity bring out the worst in me.

And fate also wants me sweaty you know, because last night when I got home, my stupid fan broke. It almost burst into flames. Luckily it didn’t and we unplugged it in time for it to be saved. So I was sweating like a pig all night. Good thing I had water again and could take a shower. That was how I was finally able to fall asleep. Anyways, I took my fan downtown and now it’s working again. I didn’t have to pay much to get it fixed, but it was pain to go all the way there just for that.

And finally to top it off, it rained like hell this morning at about 3 AM and right at that time I made the awful discovery that my bedroom ceiling was still leaking after having paid twice to get it fixed. Just awesome. So this little drop of water was consistently falling on my leg until it woke me up. I was too angry to go back to sleep then.

Much to my surprise, these unfortunate events have not put me in a bad mood. Don’t get me wrong, I am not happy with these recent streak of bad luck, but it hasn’t affected me as much as you would expect. Hear that fate? You can’t bring me down bitch! I can only hope I find a lucky charm to bring me just a bit of good luck in the days to come. 🙂

One Response to “That’s Just My Luck”

  1. Johann July 10, 2009 at 10:37 pm #

    It’s just amazing the week you had, but all that matter is how you manage through it. Just don’t ever let that, rain on your parade. F**k them!

Leave a Reply

