Big News!

17 Sep

So as you all know I had been really busy lately running errands because I had this big secret plan. I didn’t want to tell anyone until it was official. But now it is official so here goes: I am moving to the US! Yay!

That’s right. Mangocita is going north! I got a teaching job in Warsaw, North Carolina. I haven’t really decided where I’m going to live since Warsaw is a very small town and from what I’ve heard, it’s more dificult to find a roommate in rural places like that one. I might live in Fayetteville or in Wilmington, which is by the beach. You can all google these places and tell me what you think. 😉

I will be leaving by the end of this month, but I still don’t have a definite departure time and date. It all depends on when I get my passport back, which should be either Monday or Tuesday next week. I already quit my job, but my last day is this Saturday. I’m sad about leaving my students and I don’t know how they’ll take the news.

Let me tell you, planning to move to another country is no picnic. It’s HARD work, especially because you don’t know the system and because every time you hear an amount in dollars, your mind automatically tries to convert it to pesos. Same happens when I hear about miles, inches or feet. But I am really looking forward to this life-changing experience.  And I will obviously blog about my adventures in this country. Duh! I was also thinking I might write a couple of posts in Spanish in the future for my non-English speaking friends. 

But for now, I have to go and I don’t really know when I’ll post again, since I have a TON of things to get ready before my trip.

Lots of love to my readers and wish me luck in my new american life! LOL 

Mangocita

PS: I’m available for any kind of farewell party you decide to throw for me. 😉

7 Responses to “Big News!”

  1. monto1985 September 20, 2009 at 4:10 am #

    Congrats Maria. I really thought it would be you the first person i would see leaving the country even before David, Jose, Juan Carlos, Doris, Karla, Jorge, and specially me. But i’m glad that you got it, and i’m sure thatyou’ll do just great, cos you have always been the best. Keep us posted about your adventures there.Take care. big hug and enjoy it. PD. Good luck with your prince charming thing too

  2. mangocita September 20, 2009 at 10:39 am #

    Thanks for your good wishes and kind words.

  3. johann September 20, 2009 at 11:31 am #

    I’m happy for u too! Wish u luck and happinnes do not forget to answer my fb message

  4. jucaagsa September 20, 2009 at 12:42 pm #

    Well… I just have to say that I wish you the best in the US!

  5. Gabriel September 22, 2009 at 4:50 pm #

    Congratulations Mango! Who is this Prince Charming I’m reading about?

  6. mangocita September 23, 2009 at 9:27 pm #

    Juan and Johann… thank you guys! I will miss you so much!

    Gabriel…That’s a long story which I might tell you about one day 😉

  7. David September 29, 2009 at 11:39 am #

    Best of luck. I can’t imagine your new workplace getting a better teacher. We’ll all miss you back in Hell’s Kitchen, but we’re all very happy for you. Take care!!!

Leave a Reply

