My New Life

13 Oct

It’s been a while I know. And you’re all dying to know what my experience in the US has been like. There’s so much to tell I really don’t know where to begin.  I guess I’ll try to give a short summary of everything.

After two very long and exhausting flights, I got to Durham\Raleigh Airport in North Carolina, in the middle of a thunderstorm by the way. The hotel I stayed in that first week was SUPER nice! I wanted to stay there forever. I will paste a few pictures below.

Anyways, after my first week at the Orientation session, the honeymoon was over. You see, Warsaw is basically a small farming town in the countryside. I am not saying the country is not nice. There are a lot of trees and they are all beautiful, changing colors and all because it’s Fall. But you know I am used to noisy, crowded Barranquilla. So overcoming the culture shock was  harder than I anticipated. I have to say I have already cried a few times because I miss everything from home. I was embarrassed to admit it, but everyone has told me it’s a normal process.

I have been feeling better in the last few days. I am sharing an apartment with a girl from Romania. She’s a nice girl, but I’ll tell you, having a roommate is quite an adventure. I will post more about my adventures living on my own in Warsaw. For now, I have to go. I need to cook dinner.

Love you all!

M

DSCN1161

The bed was huge!
DSCN1155

2 Responses to “My New Life”

  1. JuanaBanana October 13, 2009 at 6:50 pm #

    Congrats teacher!

    I really would like to have a experience like that. Enjoy everything.
    And don’t be sad, that’s normal, your home will always waiting for you.

    Have a great day.

    Hugs & smiles.

  2. jucaagsa October 14, 2009 at 4:13 pm #

    It’s awesome to see your posts back!

Leave a Reply

