Success Is Not The Word

2 Dec

As I expected, my trip to Florida was awesome. Well, not entirely. I got really sick during part of it, and that was not so awesome. Let me give you a brief report.

Tampa was indeed as cool as I hoped for, and as I mentioned in my previous post, it reminded me of Barranquilla an awful lot. So much that it made me really homesick. But a night of dancing and doing tequila shots at the Green Iguana cured my blues. We didn’t really care that we had to wait in line for almost an hour to get in the club. All the fun we had dancing was worth the wait. However, the terrible hang over that came the next morning was the small price I had to pay for the great time I had the previous night.

The next day, we had our Thanksgiving Dinner. It felt a lot like Christmas back home to me. We ate, had cocktails, talked, and even played poker. There was A LOT of delicious food, which was great until it made me sick. I blame it on the preservatives and multiple chemicals they put in food here. But I am not going to go too deep into that topic because my thoughts on food and eating habits in this country deserve an entire different post.

As many of you know, the morning after Thanksgiving here in the US is called Black Friday. On that day, stores offer incredibly low prices for almost every item they have. My friends and I had planned to wake up early and do a little shopping and so we did. I was up by 5 AM, standing in a long line outside Best Buy-my friend was dying to get a Macbook- feeling cold and nauseous. I decided to ignore the weird noises that my stomach was making and went in and got myself a nice printer/scanner/copier and a thingy to put my laptop in. But that was all I could buy because right then I started to feel even worse and we all had to come back home. My sickness kind of ruined all the shopping plans we had. I stayed at the house for most of that day, resting and trying to overcome the constant nausea, which, come to think of it was probably caused by a low-fat blueberry muffin I ate at Starbucks. Even now I shudder at the thought of blueberries and muffins. Yuck.

Later that night, I felt a little better when K, our hostess, announced that we were going to go to The Lodge, an exclusive club in town. K had already told me that place was one of her favorite due mainly to “the large amounts of eye-candy available” And OMG, was she right! For a moment I thought there was some kind of male models convention going on in town because I had never seen so many hot guys together in one place. I have officially established that as one of the pros of living in the U.S. In fact, the hottest, sexiest, most beautiful and attractive man in the planet in my opinion lives in this country. I neither met him in a club nor is he a celebrity. And much to your amazement, he’s a super smart computer geek too.

Back to the club story, the night was going great; we were dancing and having a blast until I had the brilliant idea of ordering a cocktail. The minute I finished the drink, the headache and nausea came back even worse than before. And guess what? We had to go back home. Another adventure cut short because of my illness. My friend suggested that I drink hot tea made with anise and fennel seeds. That and eating large amounts of saltine crackers finally made me feel better. Fortunately, I was almost completely recovered by Saturday afternoon, so I didn’t have to miss the trip to Busch Gardens, which is some sort of amusement park, cultural center and zoo at the same time. As in every trip I take, I took a billion pictures and then I was too lazy (and busy too!) to upload them on Flickr. But if you’re my FB friend, you’ll be able to enjoy my not-so-great shots. In retrospect, I can say that the trip to Tampa was a success except for my getting sick, not being able to shop as I wanted to on Black Friday, and the awful drive back home which lasted almost 18 hours because we were stuck in a traffic jam for two freaking hours! Okay, maybe success is not the right word to describe my first Thanksgiving holiday.

6 Responses to “Success Is Not The Word”

  1. Gabriel December 4, 2009 at 1:04 pm #

    Why are all the hot men American, but all the hot women are Colombian?

    😉 ILYMA

  2. Gabriel December 4, 2009 at 1:04 pm #

    Oh and…Geeks are the best men to love.

  3. Johann December 13, 2009 at 12:51 am #

    I have had like 2 or 3 hangovers in my whole life, I prefere to drink just until a point where I know it won’t cause damage the next morning.

    Don’t drink that much !

  4. jucaagsa January 10, 2010 at 12:54 pm #

    For the first time, I totally agree with Johann: Don’t drink that much, Mangocita!

  5. mangocita January 10, 2010 at 5:39 pm #

    Who says I drink a lot?

Leave a Reply

