A New Wish

5 Jan

So 2010 is here. A lot of expectations come with it. Partly, because 2009 sucked for a lot of people. I can’t say that about it. It didn’t totally suck. It gave me experiences that I am very grateful for and in some aspects of my life, it brought infinite joy that I could never imagine to feel. It also brought me a lot of grief and I can say that it was an emotional rollercoaster so I am glad it’s over. But according to Yahoo’s Horoscope Prediction for 2010, this year will be awesome for me. Let us analyze those auguries for this New Year.

Career-wise, I will discover a new path that will make me feel more satisfied with my job. That is true, because I am so not satisfied with it right now. I have always known that linguistics is my passion and teaching is something that I really enjoy too. Why not mix them, right? High school students can be hilarious at times, but most of the times it is a stressing and not too rewarding job. Back when I was working with adults or university students, I had the best time. It felt great to work with these people who were thirsty for knowledge and you were there to provide them with it. A totally different scenario from high school kids who don’t give a tiny rat’s ass about learning. You have to reward them and motivate them all the freaking time so it becomes exhausting.

Now, my love horoscope was incredibly positive and dare I say, a little unrealistic. It said I would begin this year getting a lot of attention from men and that I would have so many men pursuing me, I would have trouble choosing one. HA!  They explained that some lousy planet had been in my House of Love for a long time, but now it had finally left which meant total romantic bliss from now on. HA HA! My horoscope also foresees that by the end of 2010, my romantic life would reach its peak, meaning I would get either get married or move in with someone.  HA HA HA! I don’t mean to sound pessimistic. But I find all that hard to believe. At least, for now.

On a different note, the end of this year had its ups and downs. I got to go to NYC in the end. Yay me! New York City was awesome in some aspects. I loved Central Park and the architecture of Manhattan was sublime. The lights, noise and crowds I could have done without. I was there only for a day so I have to give NYC one more try. Maybe in the summer when it’s not that chilly so my cheeks won’t freeze or my lips won’t suffer much from the cold wind. I have been trying to upload the evidence of the trip on Facebook but I’ve had a lot on my plate, as usual. Maybe I will post a blog entry of incoherent photographs entirely. We’ll see.

New Year’s Eve had a lot of drama for me. But it was fun. I went to a party and got hit on by two different guys. One was too old for me and the other one was too married. But I had a good laugh seeing them try to get my attention. Obviously, their flirting attempts were in vain as I blew them both off.  The good thing is I learned how irresistible I am. I’m obviously kidding but that makes sense if I believe the aforementioned love prediction for the last year of this decade. Or is it the first one?

This year I didn’t write a list of wishes like I did last year. I do have few resolutions though, which I plan to rigorously stick to for as long as I have resolve. In 2009, 8 of the 10 wishes I made came true. Of the two that didn’t, one I am not really upset about because I can still do it (lose a few pounds :)) As for the other one, I recently realized that it will definitely not come true and that hurts so badly to accept. So badly. I guess the time has finally come to make a new wish.

3 Responses to “A New Wish”

  1. Johann January 6, 2010 at 3:24 pm #

    “The other one was too married” hahaha I really enjoy your sarcasm.
    I imagine how stressful can be to try to teach some dirt-bag teenagers who don’t want to pay attention.
    I just had like 2 New Year’s resolutions the mainly one was to be more self-controlled with the use of msn, Facebook, twitter and YouTube, while I’m at work.
    I can’t say I’ve been working with no distractions, but at least I have like 2 days without logging in to msn.
    And the other one is to lose my “married-belly” as a lady from the bank once called it, I will start walking around a park to reduce it.

  2. jucaagsa January 26, 2010 at 11:05 am #

    Don’t worry too much about this year, Mangocita!
    I’m sure everything is gonna be alright. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Maybe Horoscopes Do Tell The Truth? | Everything Happens For a Reason - June 15, 2014

    […] there has been a higher influx of readers, some of which have been digging through my old archives. One post in particular got a lot of views. One of the paragraphs in that blog post got me thinking. […]

Leave a Reply

