We Had The Best Picnic Ever!

10 Mar

So I don’t know if it’s the fact that I’m turning 26 soon (in 9 days to be precise) or that I’m homesick or what, but I’ve been feeling utterly depressed lately. And it sucks because it’s starting to affect my sleep and my mood. In an effort to shrug off my melancholy, I called my good friends J and A. And when I told them I was blue, they did not doubt for a split second before they packed their stuff and drove to my house. Having them over this weekend was so nice. It made me feel better. At least while they were here.

And to quote my roommie, let me tell you, we had the best time ever!

Okay, let me explain the joke. My roommate spends almost every single weekend with her boyfriend at home. They almost always do nothing but stay at home and cook and do nothing together. And when I get home on Sunday night or at breakfast on Monday morning, she says those famous words in a high-pitched tone and with her strong accent. Then I proceed to ask her: What did you guys do that was so much fun?

And she says that they just stayed home and hung out. So that’s a bit of an inside joke between me and my friends from here when we’re making plans for the weekend or give an opinion about something. To be honest, it kind of makes everyone, including me, jealous that they’re so in love they can just do nothing and feel like it was the best time ever! So we just make fun of them. Good thing my roommate is not my FB friend and doesn’t read this.

So back to my best time time ever! story.

My friends got here on Saturday afternoon and we went to a Silent Auction at church. I was a bit reluctant to go, but it ended up being fun. I was bidding for a vacuum cleaner, some jewelry, and some make-up brushes but all the other bidders beat me. 😦

Needless to say, I was the only who didn’t have anything to take home from the group. However, I was determined to get something. So I noticed some items for which no one had offered any money and I asked if I could buy any of them. She accepted and now I am the proud owner of four ceramic canisters which are still packed in the same box I brought them in since Saturday. Just like my super cool printer/scanner/copy maker that I bought almost three months ago and haven’t taken out of the box. Shame on me for being such a procrastinator!

On Sunday, I drove my friends to Wilmington. I love this city! Every time I go, I discover more and more exciting places to go and things to do. I took them to Mayfaire which is my favorite shopping mall there because it looks like a small colonial town.  Then we headed over to Hugh McRae Park where we had the best picnic ever! We had delicious roast beef and swiss cheese sandwiches, cheddar cheese chips, orange juice and  chocolate chip cookies.  We enjoyed our meal lying on a warm blanket under a tree. The weather was beautiful; the sun was shining bright but there was a cool breeze that kept the temperature on a perfect 70 degrees. We took lots of pictures and and we even made a video! (sorry the video link only works for my Facebook friends)

By 4 PM, we drove around old historic Wilmington. We visited the Bellamy House Museum, which was a very creepy old house from old times, especially the slaves and servants’ house. There was such a strong, negative vibe about it. I have to confess even the pictures are too scary for me to look at. At around 6 PM, we were walking on the pier by the Cape Fear River and watched the sunset.

Then we stopped for some caramel cappuccinos and drove back home.

While we were at the park, we found a small pond with a little fountain in the middle. There was a bridge over the pond and a gazebo. For my birthday, I want to come to this place with a good book, a yummy sandwich and some music so I can have my best private picnic ever!

One Response to “We Had The Best Picnic Ever!”

  1. Gabriel March 10, 2010 at 8:08 am #

    Sounds like a good weekend with good friends.

    I miss the Cape Fear River.

Leave a Reply

