Getting Greener

27 May

Wow, a whole month without writing. That is really a long time without writing. And it’s not like life hasn’t given me anything to write about lately. For some reason, I’ve decided to ignore my urge to write.  I guess if I want to be totally honest, I should say I’ve just been lazy, hormonal and fickle, three of my biggest flaws. Except for the hormones part, that’s more of a feminine condition.  Ahem.

Anyway, before I ramble any longer, I wanted to say that a series of events which have taken place in my life lately, have made me think about things I seldom think about. I have been going to the Cabin Lake Park regularly which is a park (duh!) with a lake (duh!), where people can hike, fish and camp. It’s only 12 miles away from house. I’ve gone there on multiple occasions with friends, dates, coworkers and for multiple activities like picnics, walks and even ill-fated paddle-boating sessions. I also went on a school field trip with my students. We went to Kings Dominion, a theme park with lots of trees and green areas in which you can be in communion with both nature and roller coasters. I didn’t spend much time on the roller coasters because they make me queasy. However, I did get on a few water rides which looked like kiddie rides for most people but were pretty scary for me.

And speaking of scary, I had to drive for a whole hour in the middle of an awful thunderstorm the other night and that, along with getting mugged, was one of the most terrifying experiences I’ve ever gone through. I was not scared of getting trapped in an arroyo like the ones in my beloved hometown.  What made me freak out and almost cry was that: a) I was in the middle of nowhere and I had forgotten to bring my GPS, b) I couldn’t see a freaking thing and my windows kept getting all foggy which only made the situation a whole lot worse, c) the lightning scared the hell out of me which made me nervous and when I’m nervous or upset, I am worse driver than what I usually am, and d) I feared my car skidding, which is exactly what happened.  I don’t recall the last time I was that nervous. Seriously, I was so scared I started praying out loud and I was even getting the prayers mixed-up. (If you’re wondering, I was praying in Spanish, I just can’t pray in English). Thankfully, I was not hurt and made it home safe and the car only had a minor scratch, but I don’t ever again want to drive in the rain! Ever again!

So all of the afore-mentioned events and also watching this documentary made me think about Mother Nature and how she can get pretty violent at times and how we normally show no respect and concern for our environment. Watching that film made learn so many facts about the food I normally buy. Have you ever wondered where the beef you eat comes from? What the cattle is fed? What chemicals are put in crops? I am not saying I hadn’t thought about this before, but maybe I was too young and immature to really see the importance of knowing the truth about the food we eat. We are so used to seeing a piece of steak as a juicy, delicious meal instead of what it really is: the corpse of an animal that most likely suffered a miserable life before it was killed.

I could relate in particular to the part in the film in which they mention a certain North Carolina-based slaughter house in which they process ham, sausages and the like. Most of my students’ parents work at that place and their stories sound so familiar to those of the people interviewed in the film. It is just so sad. It made me feel grossed out at the whole world.

I also thought about my country. Is it also like this in Colombia? I have relatives who work for big cattle-raising companies and I plan to pay them a visit and do a little research of my own. Colombia is a much smaller country than the U.S. and therefore we don’t have as many people to feed. So I’m kind of hoping things are a bit less worse there.

Considering all of this, I have decided to try a little experiment: being a part-time vegetarian. I say part-time because I will not stop eating meat completely. Don’t get me wrong, I still consider myself a big-time carnivore, but I have this feeling of guilt knowing how these poor little animals are tortured and not doing anything about it. But what can I do really? So, by giving up meat (I still plan to eat dairy and eggs) I feel like I’m at least showing a little concern for my planet. So the plan so far is to go meatless twice a week for now and once I’m used to that, do it 4 times a week. Hopefully, one day I will have given up meat entirely, but who knows I might fail at this twice-a week experiment. But I want to try it.  I’ve gotten different reactions to my decision. Some people roll their eyes at me, others think it’s just a fad I want to be a part of, and a few even told me I was being ridiculous. But some other people, like my mom, totally approve of my decision.

If you are interested, go to http://www.goveg.com/ and find out more about vegetarianism and the environment.  I’m aware this is a difficult change to make but one I am sure I won’t ever regret

5 Responses to “Getting Greener”

  1. Gabriel May 28, 2010 at 9:37 am #

    I totally approve and I do the same thing. I love meat, I don’t think I could be a full time vegetarian, but I skip meat at least 3 or 4 meals a week. It’s really a very modern convenience, the eating of meat at every meal. As little as a hundred years ago people ate meat only a few times a week. Now people seldom go through a meal without it because of the factory production model being applied to meat, making a surplus of it which drives the price down so people can afford so much more of it. Which sounds like a good thing, but you wouldn’t say lowering the cost of alcohol is wise because it will lead to so much more alcoholism. The same it true of meat. People don’t think about the larger impact of their choices because they don’t see where the meat comes from. I would live entirely on wild game if I could. Every person who eats meat should one time in their life know what it means to take that meat from a living animal to the table. Kill yourself, gut it, clean it, butcher it and prepare it. Then you understand what it is. People now who live out of grocery stores have’t the vaguest conception under God what it means to live off the death of another. They think meat is just something that comes from a Styrofoam package. Silly human.

    • mangocita May 28, 2010 at 1:57 pm #

      I couldn’t agree with you more 😉

  2. Johann Salas May 28, 2010 at 12:43 pm #

    You forgot to link the documentary you were watching, unless it was something at school, anyway you’re right u didn’t stop writing for lack of imagination but for laziness, the same one I have since I arrived this beautiful land of opportunities hahaha, but I promise I’ll try and try to recover my writing, I have no excuse anymore got my own laptop now.

    Good thing nothing bad happened to you during the storm. Thanks God.

    • mangocita May 28, 2010 at 1:58 pm #

      I did link it to the official website of the film. To watch it, you have to rent it I think.
      Here’s the link the official website again:

      http://www.foodincmovie.com/

      • Johann Salas May 28, 2010 at 5:46 pm #

        Ohh I will download it, we systems engineers do not rent hahahaha.

Leave a Reply

