Today is Me Day!

23 Jun

Current location: kitchen

House: Uncleaned

To Do List: Not completed

State  of Mind: Unknown

Hello there! I hadn’t written anything in a whole month, almost. And yet here I am unshowered and  in my PJ’s on a Wednesday sipping pineapple tea, which is more delicious than it sounds. But I deserve it ’cause I’m officially on vacation! I had been busy lately and busy is an understatement. I have been engaging in all kinds of activities in an attempt to…to…err…I don’t really know. Anyways, the thing is I’ve been writing To Do lists for everything, even the most inane tasks.  Work was incredibly busy towards the end but I was able to do some fun stuff too, which includes:  going kayaking-I survived it and loved it!-, spending a weekend in South Carolina with a group of friends and going to a winery wearing fancy shoes just so people would say: “OMG, those shoes are beautiful”.  I guess I am the Queen of The Superficial after all. Ha!

But today I find myself in a very weird state of mind. Not really weird if I think about it: I just don’t feel like doing anything. Like at all. And hey, it’s not like I don’t have things to do. I am moving to a new place before I travel to my home country where I will stay for a whole month. People who have traveled with me know that I pack enough for a week when I know I’m going to be away for three days and that I pack for a month if I am going to be gone for a week. That means, I have a lot of packing to do since I will be in Colombia for 30 whole days!  And to that, add the fact that I have to move to a new place. So instead of packing, which is what I should be doing, I have spent my whole morning watching episodes of Kyle XY on Hulu and eating yogurt and cereal.  And I have no desire to do anything today that involves doing any kind of work or checking stuff off a To Do list.

However, part of me feels guilty that all I want to do is laze around. I tried calling my friends to ask for reassurance, so they would tell me that it’s okay to be lazy every now and then. But they either don’t answer the phone or tell me to start packing  since I have to be ready to turn in the place on Monday, be ready to drive to Florida in a week and to catch a plane in 13 days!

So if there is anyone out there – with nothing better to do- that happens to be reading all this crap I just wrote, please tell me it’s okay to have an official Me Day in which I can do as I please and not feel guilty about it!

I have to go make lunch now and it’s a not a very healthy menu. I am sure I do have to feel guilty about that.

4 Responses to “Today is Me Day!”

  1. Naybeth June 23, 2010 at 12:44 pm #

    Hi!.
    It’s totally acceptable. (i see myself in that statement “feeling guilty”) but it’s ok. you should definitely take some time off (not too much), charge your energies and when you feel like packing (not a common or pleasant feeling I guess) you should start. because if you do it while you’re still tired then It’s pointless and you’ll end up bored and … TIRED (Obviously). One thing that really helps is listening to music and while you’re packing you can start dancing and you can still have some fun. You’ll see time will pass really fast.

    P.S: have a nice trip =)

  2. Gabriel June 23, 2010 at 3:50 pm #

    Go ahead and enjoy your stolen day. The work will still be waiting for you tomorrow. But today you should spend on yourself in the best ways possible. You’ve earned a stolen day. Make the most of it Mangocita!

    *hugs*

  3. Angie June 24, 2010 at 10:49 am #

    Dear Mangocita:
    Don’t feel guilty, I’m doing the same. We deserve to have a day off (actually more than one) after all this year. If you want to know, I’m the kind of person that packs the day before the trip, so just make sure you have all that you want to take home. I do lists too and they can work pretty well in this kind of assignments. The feeling when you finish to pack is very pleasant and as Naybeth said, music makes it smooth. Go ahead and enjoy yourself!!!
    p.s . By the way you are so wrong when you said you are superficial, believe me darling, you are an amazing human being!!!

    • mangocita June 24, 2010 at 11:20 am #

      Aww thanks Angie! You rock too! But I was just kidding about being superficial. The shoe incident did happen and you know how much I love those shoes and how guilty I felt after I bought them. When they took the pic, I told my friend: “Make sure the shoes are in the picture!”

Leave a Reply

