Why Am I So Freaking Tired?

28 Jun

That’s a rhetorical question actually. Or not. Or maybe my definition of a rhetorical question is all messed up. Maybe my brain, al0ng with my body is fried fromall the things on my mind and all the stuff I’ve been trying to do at the same time in the last few days.

As I had mentioned before, I was/am in the process of moving to a new place. Maybe I should clarify that it’s not like I am moving all the stuff that you’d normally have to move from one house to another, like a couch, a table or chairs and other types of furniture. I actually only moved the stuff in my bedroom. And my bathroom. And some kitchen items, like pots and pans and the like.  But man, did it turn out to be more work than I expected!

First of all, moving in this heat is just the worst torture I can imagine. By the end of the day, I had more sweat on my body and clothes than I’d ever had when I was going to the gym. To that, add the fact that I was hung-over. Yep, that’s exactly what I did the night before the big move, drink cheap red wine and coronas with my best friend. What can I say? I’m that smart! But we had a good time . We sang along to cheesy songs from the 90’s and watched videos on YouTube.

The new place has both its pros and cons, obviously. One of the biggest cons was that my new bedroom does not have a closet. However, it does have a private bathroom, which is awesome for so many reasons, but mostly because I won’t have to worry about running into my roommate’s half-naked boyfriend outside the bathroom when I go to pee in the middle of the night. In my mind, private bathroom beats no-closet,  so what I decided to do was buy an armoire (read wardrobe) and then bring it home to put together myself. I thought it would take me and my new roommate a couple of hours to finish the task. HA! Wrong! It took 5 freaking hours! When we finished, I was so sore and tired that I just didn’t do anything else for the rest of the day.

And now I am lying in bed, checking things off my To Do list and adding new things to it. Tomorrow I have to go clean the old place and turn in the key. I fear the moment I say goodbye for good to the old bedroom. Yesterday, when I looked at the empty closet, I had this totally unexpected feeling of melancholy. I actually felt sad that I was leaving even though I was dying to move out. I guess it’s because the place brings back so many memories, both good and bad. In a way, it’s bittersweet to say goodbye.

My new room, although is one big mess right now, feels very homey and cozy. I still have to get used to the fact that I hear weird noises at night and that it’s really cold. The decoration needs lots of work, but I guess that will have to wait until after I get back from Colombia. And speaking of that, I am going to be there in only 7 days! I am so excited about the trip I think that is the reason I can’t sleep right now. That and the fact that I am so freaking tired.

2 Responses to “Why Am I So Freaking Tired?”

  1. johannsalas June 29, 2010 at 11:43 am #

    You are melancholic for the old room, hum! If those walls could talk … hahahaha kidding, here in this country we tend to be lazier, I have felt that since I arrived, you find physical activities so tiring, maybe is all in my head I don’t know.

    For instance I’ve been trying to tell myself to jog a bit so I can erase a little bit my big tummy but… Girl, Do I love waking up late.

    • mangocita June 29, 2010 at 1:37 pm #

      I know, right? I’m the same way about the laziness! And here, I drive everywhere. I know it’s going to be hard riding on a bus again.

      And yeah, if those walls could talk…but I am so glad they can’t 🙂

Leave a Reply

