Chimney Rock And My Weekend

7 Oct

Unfortunately, I’m not at work today because I’m sick with the stupid flu. And since this damn cough and sore throat won’t go away, there’s nothing left for me to do but read, watch TV, take  a few Nyquil-induced naps and spend time in front of the computer.

So what better way to spend my sick day than posting pics of my weekend? Here is a picture tour of my trip to South Carolina last weekend in which we celebrated the birth of my godson Justin by staying up until the sun came out, going to Chimney Rock where they have filmed several famous movies and going to the Annual International Festival in Spartanburg, SC.

I don’t have a picture of what we looked like at the beginning of our gathering since we were all too excited talking and having fun. I do have a picture of what was going on around 4 AM, but I won’t post it since the image contains lots of beer bottles and four of my friends striking a rather, uh, inebriate pose. I will show you this one though in which we toasted to the birth of my godson:

 

The next morning we went to this Colombian restaurant and we all had this awesome lunch:

 

After lunch we went to Chimney Rock where,  according to my friend Jorge, they filmed the movie “The Last Of The Mohicans.” He actually mentioned this interesting fact several times.

Lousy picture but whatever; I was too scared my hand was shaking while I took this picture.

I wish we had gone later this month so we could have seen more Fall foliage, but being so close, it would have been a shame not to go.

Devil’s Head. This is was not the highest point of the Rock!

One of my friends pointed out that this was a fake smile. And indeed, it was because I was terrified!

I still don’t know how I let them talk me into climbing that flimsy-looking thing.

Another fake smile.

But once we got to the top the view was awesome!

 

And finally a real smile! I made it to the top! Alive! Although barely breathing. I’m not fit at all. At least I burned some of those calories from the Colombian food.

And then we went to the International Festival in Spartanburg where I ate this:

I don’t remember what the sausage thingy was called but it was Vietnamese and so yum!

Finally and because  I’m bored with uploading pictures, I will end this photographic tour with an image of a remarkable acquaintance I made over the weekend:

A FLYING SQUIRREL!

 

3 Responses to “Chimney Rock And My Weekend”

  1. Johann Salas October 7, 2010 at 11:06 am #

    HAHAHA where’s the flying squirrel now?

    • mangocita October 7, 2010 at 11:32 am #

      Hahaha, her owner kept her. This girl from Romania I met caught her and kept her as a pet. Her name is Baby and she gets scared around strangers. When the girl put her in my hand, the squirrel actually peed. It was so awesome to see the little thing fly all around the apartment!

  2. Rob October 8, 2010 at 2:20 pm #

    Hello!
    Thanks for making Chimney Rock part of your travels! We’re glad you came – it looks like you had fun. If you didn’t, next time you’re here be sure to hike the Outcroppings trail to the Chimney – its amazingingly diverse and beautiful.
    Best Regards,
    The team at Chimney Rock

Leave a Reply

