Letter To The Year 2010

5 Jan

Dear 2010,

You are gone now and for good and I’m really glad you’re over. There are parts of you I wish I could just delete. You came and left so quickly I can’t help wondering, what the hell did I do with the 26th year of my life?

To say I learned a few lessons during your time is an understatement. It’s a shame some lessons, I had to learn the hard way. You brought a series of events to my life that have changed me forever. I have yet to decide if it’s for good or bad. You made me more tough-skinned. I am still fragile in some ways but I am certainly not crying my eyes out anymore. I learned that I can’t trust everyone as blindly as I did before.  I learned that actions speak louder than words and that sometimes words are just words and there’s nothing more to them than just letters forming sentences.

I became more independent and my sense of direction in life seems clearer now even though I know there’s still a lot that I haven’t figured out yet.

There’s also a lot of things I regret doing. And other things, I wish I would have done differently. If only, I weren’t so impulsive and passionate sometimes.

You also showed me how infinitely indecisive I am. I know I really need to work on that, however, I am so glad I followed my gut in certain situations.

Thank you for the all the good times and the bad ones as well.

I’ll end this letter now because I am making my blog sound like a soap opera out of Telemundo or Univision.

Lots of love and not one bit of hate,

M

PS: You also brought me a lot of extra pounds that I hope my good friend 2011 will help me get rid of.

 

One Response to “Letter To The Year 2010”

  1. J January 26, 2011 at 9:26 pm #

    There is only one that we can trust with complete abandonment and never be let down, but he is above us all in knowledge, wisdom, and morality, whereas we are erroneous beings full of venom, yet mixed with love. This being said sometimes imperfect beings need, from time to time to be given trust. Sometimes we have to allow ourselves to fall backwards and trust another to catch us. How can we know who to trust if we never take a risk? Life is all about making choices and taking risks.

Leave a Reply

