A lot of noise and a few nuts…

26 Jan

Okay, if you read the title above and do not speak Spanish, you might be totally confused. That was a literal translation of Shakespeare’s Much Ado About Nothing, which has become a very popular saying in Spanish-speaking countries. And I think English-speaking ones too.

Anyway, I used that phrase to say that what ensues is a long post about nothing. I have an ocean of ideas in my mind usually. I simply lack the ability to put them in a logical, cohesive piece of writing. See, that is one of the reasons I love making lists so much. They bring order to the chaos of errands, chores and mundane tasks that abound in my life.

First of all, I did not make any resolutions for the New Year. Why? Well, mainly because I was too drunk on New Year’s Eve (I was having a party with my family in Barranquilla, not getting drunk in my apartment by myself) to care about making a list of goals and then burn it to the flame of a white candle like I’ve done in previous years, so I just forgot about it. I guess when I thought about my Resolution-less beginning of 2011, it was too late for karma had already been a bitch to me and had given – among other annoyances- a speeding ticket for the cool amount of 145 dollars.

Over the beginning of the New Year, I also had a little friendship drama, which is the worst case of drama in my opinion, but I am trying to forget about it since I am fiercely convinced that feeling rancor brings despair to no one but yourself. I do want to ask one question to those of you who know me in real life, have I ever been arrogant to you? Have I ever treated you arrogantly? If I have, I ask for your apologies a thousand times because in all honesty, that is the last thing I would ever want to be. I actually despise people who are haughty and conceited.  Anyway, I won’t say anymore about that.

In other news, I made up my mind (finally!) and decided to apply for college to get my Master’s in TESOL in the summer. That is, if I ever get around to writing those damn application essays.  It turns out I can write a whole lot of crap about nothing, but when I am asked a simple question such as, “Why do you want to apply to this program?” my mind is blank. It seems like grad school is no picnic but it is definitely worth a try. Things will be a little tight financially, but I hope I can survive on Ramen and cheap coffee from Sheetz Bros. Also, my future college is located in a city called Greensboro which I’ve visited a few times and already love for a great number of reasons.  So please wish me luck and pray to God, Buddha, Jesus or whoever you believe in that I get accepted.

I’d better go now. Those essays are not going to write themselves.

 

 

3 Responses to “A lot of noise and a few nuts…”

  1. johannsalas January 27, 2011 at 2:25 pm #

    Wish you the best of lucks with your college and when you get accepted have a drink on my behalf.

    Nope, I don’t think you’re haughty, you’re just a human being with all your pros and cons, and sure there is always room for improvement.

    Regarding the speeding thing gotta be more careful, drive safe please!

    PS: Academics essays are always hard to digest.

  2. jucaagsa February 6, 2011 at 5:29 am #

    I also hope everything is gonna be alright.

    Even if it’s completely normal to question yourself every now and then, don’t worry too much about it… you’re a great woman!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2011 Wrap-Up « Everything Happens For a Reason - January 3, 2012

    […] I technically didn’t make new year’s resolutions last year. Later on, I did make some but I didn’t make them public.I had a few important ones which I did […]

Leave a Reply

