10 Things

26 May

1) I’m known to have weird dreams. Like really, really weird dreams. Maybe I should compile them all and write a book. The latest addition to my collection of bizarre dreams involves one co-worker fathering the child of my best friend and then leaving the baby unattended as he went out for a walk, while I was sleeping in the next room. Then in the dream, some criminals came in and stole my beloved godson while I slept. I woke up scared and guilty at 2 AM. When I told my best friend about the dream, she said: “remind me not to ever let you babysit my son.”

2) I have never understood the expression “mind you”. I’ve read definitions online and I even have had native speakers try to explain it to me, but it just doesn’t make sense to me. Therefore, I have never used it and I don’t think I ever will.

3) Speaking of language, the other day I was cooking with a friend and I told him to pass me a pan and he gave me this:

To which I said, “No, that is a saucepan.” Then I showed him this:

… And said, “this is a pan!”
He said he was going to Google it to make sure. I just did. I was wrong. The end.

4) I went to an Amish Store for the first time last weekend and I absolutely loved it! Everything was homemade and fresh. The best part? The store is about 20 minutes away from my house! Yay! Here’s our loot:

5) I bought a new brand of nail polish that it’s absolutely awesome! It lasts a long time and makes my otherwise ugly toes look decent. By the way, if you’re a woman in South America reading this and you want to move to the US,  you better start learning to give you yourself pedicures and manicures. That shit is expensive here.

6) Why is it that some guys feel like they can just randomly hit on you at any inconvenient, given time? Like the guy from the grocery store or the busboy at a small town’s only diner? I’m flattered and all, but can’t you see I’m in my jogging pants, sweaty and without make-up? If that doesn’t scream “I have no interest in flirtation right now so please leave me the hell alone”, then I don’t know what does.
7 ) Quick rant: Since I kind of look young, it seems that some people think that gives them the right to boss me around. Newsflash: No, it doesn’t.

8 )  The other day I was running uphill blasting music on my MP3 player and this truck came behind me and slowed down. I looked over and saw the guy in passenger seat show me a French fry as if to say: “run, woman run,  while I eat my delicious French fries”. I discreetly, very discreetly, gave him the finger. I’m not the one who’s clogging her arteries with hydrogenated oils, asshole.

9) Speaking of running, I’ve made a lot of progress in my running. I still don’t run the whole time obviously, but I have considerably increased my running to walking time ratio. By the way, I have the craziest thoughts when I’m running. Like crazier than usual.

10) Sometimes when I’m having a crappy day, I make a mental list of the positive things in my life. Like the fact that I have a cool mom who’s so smart and awesome. Like how I have friends that despite the distance, go out of their way to show me that they love me and that they are truly good friends. Or those sweet texts or voicemail messages that I get mid-morning which really make my day.

2 Responses to “10 Things”

  1. Angela Lo May 26, 2011 at 8:48 pm #

    Go baby go!!! I love the way you write. It is a highlight in my day everytime I get to read your blog.
    Keep up with the good-healthy life style. You are doing such a great job!

  2. Johann Salas May 28, 2011 at 8:37 am #

    Mary Jo, your life is like a movie or at least a sitcom LOL, I laughed a lot at the middle finger thing with the French fries, if that would have happened here I’m sure the truck would have stopped to say some nasty flirt words.

    Your jogging reminded me of the Nike chip you put in your shoes then plug in to the iPod I think (not sure) and tells you how many miles you run and stuff.

Leave a Reply

