Katsaridas

6 Feb

 Something awful happened to me this past Saturday morning.

I saw a roach in my bathroom!

Just typing that sentence made me shudder again.

I HATE ROACHES! Hate, hate, hate them!  I can’t even stand them on TV, and when people mention them, I flinch.

As soon as I saw the disgusting little thing, I ran away screaming like a lunatic. Then, I proceeded to run around in circles in my living room. Then, I called my boyfriend and began crying hysterically. This experience was even more traumatic since I was home alone, and no one was there to kill it for me. Yes,  I know how ridiculous this sounds, but I am seriously afraid of cockroaches and can not even kill them.  This irrational fear is beyond my control. It is actually a phobia, and it has an equally disgusting name: katsaridaphobia.

If you know me in real life and are reading this, you’re probably thinking that this is just one more thing to add to the list of things that I am scared of: dogs, darkness, ghosts, etc. But with these insects, it is different. I know I get scared easily, but still how can a stupid little insect instill so much fear and repulsion in a person? I called three different people to ask them if they could come over to my house to kill it. None of them came, so I did the most logical thing. I didn’t go back into my bathroom until my roommate came back home and checked the bathroom for roaches.

Now, every time I hear a weird noise, I think it’s one of them. I even had a nightmare involving those vile insects in which one of them “spoke”  to me and complained  that I was trying to poison them because I put about a million roach traps around the house. And today, I took the quickest shower I have ever taken because I had the feeling that there was one cockroach hiding in the shower curtain waiting to jump out at me.

Earlier today, I laughed at the ridiculousness that is my fear of cockroaches, but I seriously need to see a shrink or something because I need to get over this stupid phobia.

3 Responses to “Katsaridas”

  1. Johann February 6, 2012 at 9:26 pm #

    I think you were too into Kafka’s Metamorphosis as a teenager, I also find them disgusting and I’m afraid of the ones that can fly, my advise is to get some specialized roach repellent.

    • Mangocita February 6, 2012 at 9:29 pm #

      The ones that fly are the worst!

      And FYI, I bought enough Raid to kill all the roaches in North Carolina!

  2. jucaagsa March 24, 2012 at 3:56 am #

    I haven’t seen a roach in ages… lucky me!

Leave a Reply

