On Life

25 Apr

On blogging

Yeah I know. Bad blogger, bad! Truth is when you can’t really muster enough energy to go to one gym class a week, chances are not you won’t write on your blog for a really, really long time. I’ve missed blogging. I really want to start doing it with regularity, and not just for the sake of saying “I have a blog”. I want to further develop my writing skills. Hey, I wrote almost 30,000 thousands words for my thesis. Writing a couple paragraphs once a week should be no problem, especially when those paragraphs don’t involve having to cite my sources or using academic language. And there have certainly been times since last December when I’ve really needed to let out my thoughts and emotions and the 140 characters from Twitter wouldn’t cut it. But then, I had a deadline to meet or there was laundry to do and blogging always was put on the back burner. Much like working out.

On Work

So I kind of have a new job.  It is in the same field, but I have new responsibilities, and I guess you can say I was “promoted”. I’m purposefully vague about work because I’m paranoid and don’t think that it’s wise to talk about the things that go on at work online. What I can say is that I’m really really happy with this new job; it was totally unexpected but very rewarding. It hasn’t been easy in some aspects, but I’m learning and I feel like I’m getting better at it every single day.

On School

I’d never thought I’d say this,  but I am freaking done! I defended my thesis last Saturday and I think I did pretty well. Some of my professors recommended that I present my thesis at the TESOL conference and they all said I should really consider writing a textbook for English instruction based on my research project.  God willing, I’ll graduage May 11! Can’t wait! And the best part? My mom will be here to attend graduation with me!

On Facebook/Pinterest/Instagram and Such

I don’t know how many times I’ve said this, but I’m so over Facebook. Still, I can’ t bring myself to close my account for good. Facebook is like this huge circle of jerks that you hate to be a part of but can’t live without. Part of my reasoning is that I live so far from relatives and friends, FB is a good way to keep in touch without much effort. So what do I hate about FB? The same thing everyone probably hates: Grown-ass people taking way too many selfies with a duck face. Hey, I’m guilty of the selfies too, but as I approach my thirties I am less and less interested in that kind of stuff. Also, there’s the people who use FB as their confessional, or as if it were God’s direct line for requests. But the thing that kills me the most is the over-sharing.  The question I ask myself when I read most status updates is, who the heck cares? And don’t even get me started on people making certain type of announcements on Facebook before picking up the phone and calling the important people in their lives to let them know first.  It must be really awful to find out on Facebook that a close relative has died.

On Marriage

I have been married for almost four months. That time hardly seems like a milestone but I feel like it is an accomplishment. When friends and relatives asked me the oh-so-common question, “how’s married life?” I never know what to say. It’s not that I’m unhappy or anything. I think we’re still in the honeymoon stage, but we’re also in the trying-to-adapt-to-each other phase. It’s just that I never know quite well how to answer when people ask me how I feel about married life. If I say, “it’s awesome, all rainbows and unicorns!” it sounds like I’m bragging. And I would also be telling a lie because living with another person is hard. It would also be a lie to say that I’ve been miserable during this time. I guess an honest answer would be that there have been challenges like when we argue over doing the dishes or cleaning the house but it’s also been so sweet to share my life with someone I love. Sure he is a bit messy, but he’s also thoughtful and caring. He buys me flowers for no reason and makes me coffee first thing in the morning. I can see he appreciates me and does not take me for granted. Also? I’m no angel. I know it is not easy putting up with my moods. Living with Jason has made me realize how bossy I can be. I honestly had no idea I could be that bossy. Luckily, he calls me out on it when I’m being particularly annoying. And God knows I can be annoying. I feel like we complement each other very well even though we fight like most couples do and don’t always see eye to eye. So how do I convey this sentiment in one or two sentences without giving too many details about my personal life? I guess I should just tell people to mind their own business.

On Health-related Issues

As it turns out, I seem to have a heart condition. It sounds more serious that it really is. Mostly. It’s called a Bundle Branch Block and it’s like a defect in the electrical impulses of my heart. My doctor says I was probably born with it and I shouldn’t worry about it. For now, I’ve had to get a bunch of studies just to make sure everything is alright. I’ve had no symptoms other than a sharp pain on my chest a few weeks ago. My doctor thinks the pain was probably due to stress, but I seem to be healthy otherwise. I’ve been monitoring my blood pressure every day too since it tends to get a little high when I am under a lot of stress. I have to admit it kind of freaked me out a bit when doctor told me. Especially, the way they told me. I had gotten a EKG and had already left the doctor’s office. As I was walking in the parking lot back to my car, a nurse came to get me and said that the doctor needed to talk to me.  When I went back in, she was all like, “I need to inform you about something but please don’t be alarmed”. I was obviously alarmed after she said these words and cried like a baby once I got home. But then J and I Googled the issue and we found out people can live normal lives with that condition. I just need to be more mindful of my heart and be extra aware of my diet so I don’t worsen the problem.

One Response to “On Life”

  1. Jason April 26, 2013 at 7:17 am #

    I love you

Leave a Reply

