Pumpkin Overload

3 Dec

You know how by late August most people (especially women) become obsessed with all things pumpkin? Well, I’m ashamed to admit I am one of those people.Truth be told, a lot of pumpkin-flavored products out there are utterly disgusting. Others taste nothing like pumpkin. Manufactures seem to think that all it takes is adding some nutmeg, cinnamon and cloves to their products. Slap on an orange label and bam! instant pumpkin anything.

The list of pumpkin-related stuff I’ve bought includes: pumpkin-flavored candles, cheesecake, oatmeal, coffee, coffee creamer, sliced bread, cake, macarons and tiny (fake) pumpkins to decorate my house. I’ve also had pumpkin spice lattes, which I liked when I first had them but lately I don’t really care for, and obviously pumpkin pie.

Of all the pumpkin products out there, my favorite thing ever is pumpkin beer. I love it so much, I’ve decided to go on a mission to try all the pumpkin beers and figure out which ones are the best. So I’ve ranked the top five beers in my opinion. Now , keep in mind that I’m no beer expert, but I know what I like. Also, I realize this post would have been more suited in say, October when the pumpkin craze is at its peak, but it’s taken me about four months to write this “review” mostly because I like to hoard my pumpkin beer and drink it one bottle at a time to enjoy it to the max.

First of all, some photographs:

pumpkin beer

From left to right: Samuel Adams’ Fat Jack, Uinta’s Punk’n, Smuttynose’s Pumpkin Ale, Cottonwood Pumpkin Spiced Ale by Carolina Beer Company, Shipyard Pumpkinhead by Shipyard Brewing Co. and Pumpkick by New Belgium Brewing.

A close-up of Pumpkinhead during a taste-testing one Saturday afternoon:

backyard tasting

Now without further ado, here are the top 5 pumpkin beers I’ve had:

Numero 5: Cottonwood Pumpkin Spiced Ale by Carolina Beer Company

Numero 4: Pumpkick by New Belgium Brewing

Numero 3: Shipyard Pumpkinhead by Shipyard Brewing Co

Numero 2: Fat Jack by Samuel Adams

Numero 1: Pumpking by Southern Tier

The Pumpking

PS: How many times can a person write the word pumpkin in one post?

Leave a Reply

