Tales From The Weekend

9 Dec

So yeah I didn’t blog over the weekend. Who cares? I decided I wasn’t going to fret during my two free days of the week over some silly self-imposed posting deadline. I think I’m going to skip posting on weekends. Also, today’s post is going to be a short one ( and I probably won’t have time to proofread either so, Self,  pardon my mechanical errors in advance) since it’s already 9:30 and I have a super early wake-up call tomorrow.

What did I do over the weekend? Let’s recap! I used to do weekend recaps when I first started blogging as a way to preserve memories of time spent with family and friends or places I visited. As I started grad school and my blogging almost diminished to non-existent, I completely forgot how amusing it can be to go back and re-read a recount of what you did on, say, Friday June 5th 2009.

Onwards with this past weekend’s adventures!

Friday was pretty busy. I pretty much ran from one school to another and didn’t have enough time to get everything done.. I don’t know why the last couple of days, it seems like there’s always something that needs to be done and I can barely keep up. After I got home from work, I had some tea, talked to my mom on Skype, showered and then got ready for our date night. We met with our friends I and JP for dinner in a town that is exactly halfway between our respective towns. I is from Brazil and brought me a present from there: a cool pair of Havaianas Sandals. Can’t wait to wear them next summer! Even though I had a lot of fun at dinner, I realized how much I miss our group of friends that used to get together often. It’s hard being so far away from your good friends.

Saturday night, we went over to my friend’s S to celebrate her b-day and Dia de Velitas (Little Candle Day). I’ll let Wikipedia explain what this holiday is about. How the night was in one word? A blast! I’ll let the pictures do the talking:

DSC02196

DSC02194

DSC02192

DSC02186

DSC02185

Sunday, on the other hand, wasn’t so great. I had the bright idea to go grocery shopping in the rainy, cold mess of a day we had yesterday. Bad move. The roads were wet and I had to drive slow. By the time I got back home, I was moody and tired and all I wanted to do was put on my PJs, watch a movie and veg out on the couch. I learned my lesson: if I can avoid it, I won’t ever go grocery shopping while it’s cold and rainy out.

That’s all for today. I’ll try to come back tomorrow with a few tales from past Candle Days.

Night!

Leave a Reply

