2013 Wrap-Up

5 Jan

I almost didn’t do this yearly re-cap thingy for 2013, but I’m very fond of continuity…that is until I’m too lazy to bother with it. Also, since I mostly write this blog for future Me (I seriously love to go back and read something I wrote in the past) I figured, why not?

I will skip some questions though because I don’t really think they apply to me. Seriously? Do you really think I can afford to visit multiple countries every single year? Please!

1. What did you do in 2013 that you’d never done before?

-Have my mom come visit me in the U.S.

-Get my Master’s Degree

-Present my thesis research at a conference

2. Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

For the past two years, I have not made resolutions and I’ve found it liberating. I guess my only resolution for this year is to try to be the best person I can be.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?

Again, a few of my friends had kids. I’m at that stage in life where everyone around is having babies. And yeah, definitely babies are on my mind.

4. Did anyone close to you die?

Thankfully nobody in my immediate or extended family.

5. What countries did you visit?

Whatever, Question #5.

6. What would you like to have in 2013 that you lacked in 2012?

More commitment to certain things that felt like a chore but that would have had a positive impact in my life.

7. What dates from 2013 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

April 26th- When I went to pick up my mom from the airport

May 11- When I graduated from College

December 28th – Our first wedding anniversary

Also, I can’t remember the date, but there was one day in December when my husband and I turned off all the lights and lay under the Christmas tree playing Christmas carols. I don’t really know why but that was such a nice evening. I will forever cherish that memory.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?
Finishing grad school and getting promoted at work.

9. What was your biggest failure?

I’m skipping this one simply because I refuse to dwell on my “failures”. What I perceive as a failure, someone else might consider an accomplishment. It’s all relative.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?

I still have migraines. I don’t think that’s ever going to change. Also I was diagnosed with a weird heart condition. Although, my doctor said I’m very healthy overall.

11. What was the best thing you bought?

Plane tickets for my mom. And, I cringe as I type this, a video game console.

12. Where did most of your money go?

To the US Immigration department, our lawyer and our savings account. Also, gas stations.

13. What did you get really excited about?

My mom’s arrival, graduation, our first anniversary.

14. What song will always remind you of 2012?

That would be Applause by Lady Gaga. Even my husband hums the chorus sometimes. I blame the local radio stations for that one.

15. Compared to this time last year, are you happier or sadder? Thinner or fatter?Richer or poorer?

I’ve always hated this question so I won’t answer it.

16. What do you wish you’d done more of?

Showing those I love that I care about them.

17. What do you wish you’d done less of?

Worrying over insignificant things.

18. How did you spend Christmas?

Just the two of us and a couple of friends. It was quiet but nice. We had a belated Christmas celebration at the in-laws’ this year due to conflicting schedules.

19. What was your favorite TV program?

New Girl and How I Met Your Mother, maybe. Dexter (the TV show) really disappointed me this time. True Blood was also meh.

20. What were your favorite books of the year?

-Sharp Objects and Dark Places by Gillian Flynn. What can I say? I love to hate characters.

-Dexter’s Final Cut–Just because I’m still loyal to Jeff Lindsay and it was a bit different from the other Dexter books.

-The Signature of All Things by Elizabeth Gilbert was truly lovely.

21. What was your favorite music from this year?

Pandora’s Brazilian Music Station, Bomba Estereo and all covers by this group

22. What were your favorite films of the year?

I didn’t absolutely LOVED any film. I liked a few indie productions on Netflix. Can’t remember any names. The 2nd Hunger Games movie was way better. Ender’s Game, which we were looking forward to, kind of sucked. And I still haven’t seen Desolation of Smaug.

23. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?

I turned 29. J and my awesome friends threw me a surprise party. I looked awful in the pics and not very happy. I was sleep-deprived and in the worst stages of thesis-writing! Also, I got an awesome laptop from my love!

24. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?

I don’t really know.

25. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2012?

I’m into dark colors again. Lots of gray and dark blue. I wore mostly nude and black shoes.

26. What kept you sane?

Valium? Just kidding.

27. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2013.

We must learn to forgive. Even those who don’t seem to deserve forgiveness.

2 Responses to “2013 Wrap-Up”

  1. jucaagsa January 5, 2014 at 8:34 pm #

    After wondering where all these questions came from, I guess I’m inspired to write a post like this in the future 😉

    • Mangocita January 5, 2014 at 10:08 pm #

      My dear Juan,

      I got the questions from another blog. Feel free to use them too. You know, it’s not too late to review 2013!

Leave a Reply

