30

26 Mar
It is currently 4:39 AM in Portland, Oregon. I’m under the covers of my comfy hotel room. I’m here to attend the International TESOL conference. And my body is still on Eastern Time, which means I went to bed at 7:30 PM Pacific Time and I was wide awake by 4:00 AM. So here’s the recap of my 30th birthday, which I wasn’t even going to bother to write about, but it was truly special so I want to capture the memories on paper, or uh, laptop? screen? whatever! So here it goes!

 

The weeks leading to my birthday were kind of depressing. Not because I was feeling old or anything silly like that. I was just missing my family, friends and life in Colombia too damn much. That is the reason why initially I didn’t want to make a big deal out of my turning 30th. In the end, I figured it wouldn’t hurt to have a little dinner party with some friends so I told J that I wanted to go out to dinner on my b-day and then a little get-together with some friends. He was all cool about it like he didn’t care, but said it was a good idea. Now I should say that I am an expert at ruining surprises that J has prepared for me. Be it gifts, parties, anything, I always figure it out. This time he managed to keep it hidden. I straight-out asked him if he was planning anything at some point and he calmly said no. So I bought it.

So on the Saturday before my birthday, we went out shopping. This should have been the first indicator that something was wrong. J hates to go shopping yet he gladly stood by me and even gave me advice while I was shoe-shopping. Another indicator? I had forgotten to put on makeup and wanted to stop by the house to get my makeup bag but Jason refused to let me go. I thought it was weird but didn’t think much of it. We got hot dogs for lunch and then we wandered around some more. We ended up going to Target too where J got me my favorite movie (Amelie) on DVD. We ate a surprisingly early dinner which I wasn’t very hungry for but enjoyed nonetheless. Then it was time to go home.

I had noticed he was being sneaky about something but I figured it was a surprise gift perhaps. When I got out the car, he told me to get the door while he got the shopping bags. I opened the door and the first thing that my brain registered was that the furniture had been moved. My first reaction? A panicked scream because I thought we had been burglarized. Then everyone said HAPPY BIRTHDAY and it all sank in. Super blurry picture of my bewilderment:

IMG-20140315-WA0008

Yay! I had a blast! Most of my closest friends here in the US joined us to celebrate.

IMG-20140315-WA0010

There are no more photos because, well I didn’t know we were having a party and the camera battery was dead. LOL

The actual day of my birthday was wonderful as well, but I don’t feel like writing about it.  Some things should be kept from the Internet 😉

I will say that even though I had to work that day, I got a kick-ass dinner and enjoyed some awesome carrot cake. All in all, 30th was a great birthday (presents were great too!). I felt really loved so I can’t complaint. Maybe later on I will write some more about the meaning of this milestone birthday. Maybe!

IMG-20140319-WA0029

Leave a Reply

