The Weekender

2 Jun

Day 2! Yay!

I’ve already started cheating because I am so going to be recapping my weekends for Mondays’ posts.

I used to write recaps of my weekends when I first started this blog in 2009 (five years ago! what?). It was fun whenever I had plans to go out or do something interesting over the weekend, but let’s face it no one has weekends full of entertainment all the time. Guess what? Lazy weekends spent doing mundane things or nothing consequential at all are equally enjoyable!

Friday, I had grand plans…to clean Yeah that totally didn’t happen. This lady I know from work told me once she liked to clean her house on Thursdays/Fridays so she had the weekend off. So I thought I would tackle all my cleaning Friday evening. However, as soon as I got home from work, I heard the call of the Sirens of the Land of Netflix. So I just sat on the couch and watched TV. I know, amazing!

Saturday started with the usual: Zumba at 8 AM, hearty breakfast afterwards. Then, I went on a cleaning spree and by 1:45 PM, my house was sparkling clean and smelling of lavender and orange blossoms. Yay! Then, we went out to this kind-of new, let’s call it “Suburban Shopping Center”, that is very close to my house. It’s got a pharmacy, a fancy grocery store, a Starbucks, a hair salon, a restaurant, a wine shop, an art studio and a nail salon. Very interesting combination of shops, very North Carolina. Oh, and they do free concerts in the parking lot over the summer. We got Chinese food, and then bought flowers and wine.  Once we were back home, we proceeded to watch movies. We saw Machete Kills (so ridiculous) and Odd Thomas (surprisingly decent; gave me nightmares though). I made a delicious dinner of garlic lemon parmesan cod and herbed new potatoes.

Sunday was pretty uneventful. We went grocery shopping and hung out with our neighbors for a bit. We went for a walk/run in the evening. The highlight of our workout was that I was able to do six (SIX!) push-ups in a row. And they were not girl push-ups! For reference, a few months ago, I was able to do zero push-ups in a row. I also got a haircut on Sunday, over which I had a freakout right before bed last night. I kind of hate the way my hair looks right now.

So that was the weekend. I’m sure whoever is reading this most likely cannot contain the thrill of having reading about my stupid weekend. But hey, I decided to subject  myself to this torture of writing everyday so I just have to suck it up! I vow to take tons of pictures next time to go with my monotonous weekend recap.

2 Responses to “The Weekender”

  1. Angela Lo June 9, 2014 at 4:31 pm #

    When I was reading this, I kind of felt like I had a conversation with you. Like the ones we used to have!

    • Mangocita June 9, 2014 at 8:28 pm #

      🙂 I miss you!

Leave a Reply

