What I’ve Been Up To

19 Jun

Believe it or not, when I am on vacation it is harder for me to get stuff done. I think it’s because when I’m off for the summer, I have this feeling that I can tackle any DIY project, complicated recipe or cleaning task because, hello? TWO MONTHS OFF! I have all the time in the world.

I guess that feeling of having so much time off brings out my procrastinating tendencies because I end up accomplishing nothing. Last summer, my mom was here so we spent a lot of time traveling and going on little adventures here in NC. However, as the first day of school approached last summer, I started complaining to J that I felt like I had wasted my summer because I hadn’t done anything productive. All I did was eat, watch TV and read. I’m not complaining because it was really restful and all, but that feeling of guilt for not being more industrious with my time was still there.

On Tuesday, J called me midday and asked what I was up to and I said I wasn’t doing much. Then, I got defensive and started offering explanations as to why I was doing nothing. It wasn’t like he was questioning my laziness, but I still felt the need to defend it. He then reminded me how much I had lamented my wasted summer last year. Alright, wise husband! I need to get my butt in gear and stop languishing on the couch watching movies on Netflix. I mean I’ll still be watching chick flicks, just not every waking hour.

I think one thing that has been different this summer is that I’ve been more physically active. I’ve been more consistent with exercise and, dare I say, I might actually be enjoying it now. I’ve also been trying a new approach with cleaning. Instead of choosing one day a week where I clean ALL THE THINGS, I’m doing one chore a day. That way, I can smile smugly as I watch four episodes in a row of Orange Is The New Black because hey, my kitchen floor is sparkling clean!

Yesterday I started with cleaning out the closet. I got rid of old clothes and shoes I wasn’t wearing anymore. Speaking of shoes, I realized my shoe obsession is getting a little out of hand.

image (6)

image (9)

The fact that I have three pairs of shoes that are almost identical except for the color is proof that I have a problem. I kind of hate myself for it.

Other things I have been doing include trying to redecorate here and there and experimenting in the kitchen.

image (7)

I was a bit skeptical to buy that tray since I know chevron has been way overused for the past two years. However, I kind of like the contrast between the colorful flowers and the black and white. Also, it was very inexpensive and it makes a great tray for Sunday breakfast in bed. I would also like to decorate the kitchen/dining nook a bit more. We’ll see!

image (8)

I made this Thai lemongrass rice noodle soup for lunch yesterday and it was the bomb! I only made one serving because I was experimenting so J didn’t get a chance to try it.

So that’s what I’ve been up to. Plans for today include watching Colombia play against the Ivory Coast at noon with a friend and then picking up a new bed I bought! Yay, consumerism!

 

Leave a Reply

