Flexing my writing muscles

14 May

Wow, it’s certainly been a while.
The other day, while waiting for some update to run on my computer, I found myself looking at this blog. I read through the last few posts I wrote (in 2014) about my trip to Colombia and the need to disconnect from technology while I was there. And then, nothing. I have said it before and I will say it again. Reading something I wrote some time in the past gives me such joy. That got me thinking, maybe it is time for me to start writing again.

When I got back to the States back in the summer of 2014 , I found myself extremely busy with new projects at work. At the same time, I was trying to maintain my newly acquired passion for exercise*. Then I got pregnant that fall and literally everything changed. Even though I was elated to be pregnant, I was constantly scared something might go wrong with the pregnancy. For that reason, I stopped doing Insanity and Zumba and switched to gentle walks. That came to a sudden halt when, around week 6, I started experiencing morning sickness. Which in my case should have been called, all-day sickness. It lasted all the way through my second trimester. At that point, I started to take slow walks again . When it was cold out, we would go to the gym and while I walked on the treadmill, the husband would run. As the third trimester came along, my feet, my stomach and my behind got progressively bigger and bigger. I have to say that I was the most unhealthy, laziest pregnant woman ever. I ate doughnuts frequently and my workout of the day was putting the dishes in the dishwasher. Still, I had a relatively easy labor and delivery, although my baby was 5 weeks early.

My little boy was born in July 2015, and we found ourselves trying to survive the crazy newborn stage. Then, I just plain got lazy and stopped working out at all. I stopped caring about what I ate. I would tell myself, “hey I’m in survival mode; gotta do whatever it takes to survive this stage of life”. To some extent, that is true. I think I took things too far though. So far, that almost 9 months after giving birth, none of my pre-pregnancy clothes remotely fit still.

Yes, I have heard that it takes a full year to recover from pregnancy and childbirth. But in all honestly, I cannot justify my unhealthy habits that way. Our lives today are much different than they were before we had a kid. Most of the time, I am way too tired to work out. My 60+ mins daily commute (one way) is not conducive to cooking healthy meals, getting a good workout and taking care of a 10 month old who wants to explore every nook and cranny of our home.

Last month I completed the Whole30 program and I lost 10 pounds. Being that I have so much weight still to lose, 10 pounds is not that much. It has made a difference though. I am no longer passing out at 7:30 PM every night. I have more energy, fewer mood swings, less inflammation and I am sleeping a million times better. Also, my migraines are pretty much gone and I can now pinpoint exactly what was causing them (gluten for the most part). The Whole30 program is famous for helping people curb their sugar cravings. While I can say that mine have diminished considerably, they have not totally disappeared. The other day I found myself eating a brownie (totally off plan) and then feeling guilty about it the next day. I realize that the struggle against my sugar dragon** is not over and probably won’t be for a while. But that is okay because I am taking the steps to take care of my health and finally have a healthy relationship with food. Instead of using it as coping mechanism when I am stressed or sad, I want food to be simply fuel for my body. And every now and then, I will enjoy more indulgent foods totally guilt-free. On the exercise front, I am taking small steps to get myself moving again. My boys gave me a mountain bike for Mother’s Day and I have been making an effort to hit the trail and ride my bike at least once week.

I don’t know how to close this post other than saying I missed blogging and just felt like doing it again.

PS: I can’t believe my first post after an almost two year hiatus is all about fitness and exercise. I guess that is one topic that has been on my mind a lot lately and so I guess I just needed to share.

 

*While I have always worked out, in one way or another, I owed this dedication to my husband who is a rock-star athlete. His endurance and amazing physical shape at almost 42 years old never cease to amaze me. You inspire me, lovely husband! 😉

**That’s what the Whole30 calls it.

Leave a Reply

